Have you decided that it’s time to delete your Lyft account?
In this article, we will show you how to delete a Lyft account in three easy methods.
We’ll also explain what happens when you delete Lyft accounts and whether or not it’s a permanent deletion.
Finally, we’ll walk you through the process of deleting a Lyft membership.
Why Delete Your Lyft Account?
There are many reasons why you might want to delete your Lyft account.
- You’re not using Lyft as much as you thought you would.
- You only signed up for a limited time, and your time is up.
- You’re moving to a new city and don’t want to take your account with you.
- You found another ride service that you like better.
- You’re deleting the account of a family who recently passed away.
What Delete Lyft Account Really Means
Although you can delete your Lyft account, Lyft won’t completely delete the data they have on you.
The data they may decide to keep includes the following.
- Email address
- Phone number
- Credit card or any other payment method
- Account photo
- Facebook profile pic, gender, and name (if you signed up on Facebook)
- All Lyft customer service communication threads
- Communication threads between you and drivers
- Device information (phone carrier, mobile operating system, IP address, and more)
- Your reviews and ratings of each Lyft driver
They may also keep on file address book contacts and their phone numbers if you previously allowed this permission.
Lyft might also keep all information related to your location data.
Your information file can include your Lyft ride history, when you took them, how much you paid for each trip, and more.
Is Deleting Your Lyft Account Permanent?
The best answer here is “sort of.”
It’s a permanent deletion because you can’t add the Lyft mobile app back on your phone, sign in, and start retaking rides.
However, Lyft still holds onto your account data.
What Happens When You Delete Your Lyft Account?
Lyft will remove the ability for any login activity on your account.
Deleting the account makes it impossible for you or hackers to access your Lyft data.
Is deleting your Lyft account reversible?
No, the process is not reversible once you delete your Lyft account.
You will need to sign up for a new account if you decide you want to use Lyft again in the future.
What You’ll Need To Delete a Lyft Account
You don’t need much to take yourself through the Lyft account deletion process.
Here are the two things you need.
- Lyft Account: Of course, you need a Lyft account.
- Device to Access Your Account: You can delete your Lyft account from any device with Internet access and the ability to log into your Lyft account. You can use a desktop, laptop, smartphone, or tablet.
How To Delete Your Lyft Account on a Desktop
The process that works for deleting your Lyft account on a desktop works the same if you use a laptop or tablet.
It also works for deleting a Lyft ride account or a Lyft driver account.
1. Contact Lyft Support
You can do this by sending an email to [email protected], but the easiest way is to visit the Lyft Support Page.
Once you’re on the page, you should see the following form prompting you to create a new support request:
You’ll need to enter the email address and phone number associated with your Lyft account, as well as a subject for your request (something simple such as “Deleting my account” will be fine).
You’ll then need to choose to delete your account under “What can we help you with?”
To do this, click on the arrow to the right of the box and then click on “Profile and account settings.”
Then, click on “Delete my account or unsubscribe.”
Finally, click on “Delete my account.”
2. Explain Why You’re Deleting Your Account
Once you’ve followed the steps above, you should see a form that looks something like the following:
You’ll need to fill out the “Description” field with an explanation of why you want to delete your account.
You don’t need to provide a long or detailed reason.
Something as simple as “I no longer want to use the service” will suffice.
Once you’ve filled out the description of why you’re leaving Lyft, just click the checkbox next to “I’m not a robot” and then hit “Submit.”
3. Wait for a Response
After you submit your support request, you should receive a response within a couple days confirming that your account has been deleted.
If you don’t hear anything, you can send an email to [email protected] to inquire.
How To Delete Your Lyft Account on a Mobile Device
The process works the same on a mobile device.
- On your phone, open up your favorite browser.
- Visit Lyft’s Privacy Data page.
- Enter your phone number.
- Enter the verification number texted to your phone by Lyft.
- Click the “Start” button underneath the “Delete account” heading.
- Select a reason under the “Tell us why you’re leaving” heading. You’ll see the same options as stated in the above process for deleting an account with a desktop.
- Enter the word “Delete” into the box provided.
- Click on the “Delete account’ button.
Tip: Check Your Data First
Before deleting your Lyft account on either a desktop or mobile device, you might want to download your account data first.
If you want a permanent record of all the information Lyft holds on you, you must do this before entering the process to delete a Lyft account.
You can do this on the same Privacy Data page on which you start the account deletion process.
Before selecting the button to delete your account, first select the “Start” button under the “Download data” heading.
Choose the “Request” option on the next page.
Once Lyft completes its process of compiling all your data, you will receive the report in your email inbox.
The email will include your data inside a document called “DataDictionary.”
In the document, Lyft explains the file types provided and the information placed inside each file.
It’s a good idea to wait to receive the email with your data before deleting the account.
Technically, you can request the data and immediately delete your Lyft account.
However, if something happens on Lyft’s side where they don’t send your data, you can’t make the request again after deleting the account.
It’s probably best to patiently wait for your data first.
How To Unsubscribe and Delete Lyft Memberships
You should cancel any Lyft membership before deleting the account.
The best place to delete a subscription is from your Lyft rider app.
The process explained below works for Lyft Pink or any other membership type.
- Open your Lyft app.
- Tap on “Settings.”
- Scroll to “Subscriptions.”
- Tap on “Cancel Subscription.”
- Tap on the confirmation link Lyft shows you on the next page.
How to Unsubscribe from All Lyft Emails
Deleting your Lyft account will not automatically unsubscribe you from Lyft promotional emails.
After all, the company wants to do everything they can to win you back as a customer, including sending you discounts in exchange for joining the service again.
If you’re not interested in receiving these emails (which we assume you aren’t if you deleted your account), then you’ll need to submit a separate support request to unsubscribe.
To unsubscribe, first go to the “Submit a request” page on Lyft’s website, which you can find here.
After filling in your email, subject and phone number, click on “Profile and account settings” as the response to “What can we help you with?”
Then, click on “Delete account or unsubscribe.”
Finally, click on “Unsubscribe from emails.”
Once you’ve selected that, you should see a form similar to the following:
Fill in the “Description” field with whatever makes sense, confirm you’re not a robot and then click “Submit.”
This will initiate the process of unsubscribing you from all Lyft emails.
As you can see in the screenshot above, Lyft notes that the process of unsubscribing you can take up to 10 days, so don’t be surprised if you receive additional emails from the company before that time has passed.
Of course, if you don’t want to receive any of the emails from the company in the meantime, you can always mark their emails as spam (though there’s nothing to stop you from doing that even without deleting your account).
Frequently Asked Questions
You may still have a few questions about deleting your Lyft account.
Here are the answers to three commonly asked questions.
Did you enjoy this tutorial?
It’s a simple yet important tutorial when you want to remove the ability for Lyft account login activity.
If you won’t use the service anymore, there’s no reason to keep the account open for hackers.
To learn more about how to contact support, check out our guides for Lyft and for Uber.
And if you just want to make changes to your account information, have a look at this Lyft support article.
Do you have any additional questions about deleting your Lyft account?
If so, please ask us in the comments below.
Finally, if you’re ready to delete your Lyft account, use one of the above options to get it done today.