Have you had a bad experience with Uber Eats and are looking to switch to DoorDash or a different food delivery service?
If so, you may want to learn how to delete an Uber Eats account.
In this overview, you will gain a better understanding of the Uber Eats policy on inactive accounts, the difference between the Uber ride service and the Uber Eats app, and instructions showing how to delete the Uber Eats account.
Keep reading to find out the steps necessary to delete the Uber Eats account.
Let’s get right into it!
Can You Delete an Uber Eats Account?
The only way you can delete your Uber Eats account is to remove your entire Uber account including your ride-hailing service.
Furthermore, the deleting process for removing your Uber account begins with a 30-day timeline during which your account is deactivated while you’re given a month to change your mind.
After the 30 days of the deactivation period, you will delete Uber history and lose past credits along with your chronological ride record.
Essentially, you can surely delete an Uber Eats account, but it will come with losing your ability to use the Uber ride-hailing service.
Does Uber Delete Inactive Accounts?
If you stopped using the Uber Eats app and began using a different food delivery service that works with your local restaurant, then you may find that Uber has started the process of deleting your inactive account.
To improve privacy and security, Uber’s policy is to delete accounts regularly that have not seen any activity for a long period of time.
However, when Uber does decide to delete your account, you will receive an Uber app notification, an email, or a text message.
The notifications will let you know when your account is scheduled to be deleted.
If You Delete an Uber Eats Account, Do You Still Have Uber?
Unfortunately, you cannot keep your Uber ride service if you delete your Uber Eats account.
You will no longer have your Uber account when you delete it, meaning you’ll no longer have the ability to hail a ride or order food from a local restaurant through Uber Eats.
You should also understand that deleting the Uber app off your smartphone or other digital devices won’t delete your entire Uber account.
The company will still have your information and your account will merely become inactive.
Over time, Uber is likely to delete your account if it’s inactive.
Uber vs Uber Eats Accounts
The difference between the Uber account and the Uber Eats account involves two separate services.
Uber by itself is a service where you can request a ride to get to work, any appointment, a social event, or home.
Wherever you need to go, you can get an Uber driver to get you there.
Uber Eats, on the other hand, is a food delivery service where you can pick the meal you want from a participating restaurant.
You’ll pay for the meal on the Uber app and then a food delivery driver will pick up the food at the restaurant and bring it to your residence.
Why Delete an Uber Eats Account?
Why do you want to delete your main Uber account?
There are tons of possible reasons.
First, you may find yourself spending too much money on takeout and food delivery.
You may want to save money by deleting the Uber app.
You might have also decided to eat healthier and avoid the large portions served at restaurants.
Some other possible reasons why you’re looking to delete your account include:
- You’re no longer using it and you want to remove your information
- You switched to another food delivery service like Door Dash or Grubhub
- You were kicked off of Uber
1. No Longer Using It
If you stopped using Uber Eats to save money or start eating healthier food at smaller portions, then you may want to delete the Uber app account.
You may want to remove the data stored in this app to improve your privacy and security online.
If there was a negative experience on Uber Eats like the delivery driver brought the wrong food, then you may have started using a different food delivery service.
2. Switched to Another Service
If the Uber Eats app was not satisfactory, you might have switched to a different food delivery service.
If so, you’ll need to delete the Uber Eats account.
You might have started using Grubhub, Door Dash, or Instacart.
Grubhub and Door Dash can deliver all sorts of meals from participating restaurants while Instacart can bring you groceries to cook at home.
Whether you want Chinese, Italian, or a home-cooked meal, these services will guarantee you receive what you seek.
3. Kicked Off of Uber
Another reason why you may have undergone an Uber account deletion is due to breaking Uber rules and getting kicked off its ride-hailing service.
Some of the reasons why you may have gotten kicked off include:
- Damaging passenger’s or driver’s property
- Using abusive and inappropriate language and/or gestures
- Having any physical contact with the drivers or passengers
- Unwanted communication or contact with the driver after the ride is over
- Breaking the law while using the Uber ride service
How to Delete an Uber Eats Account
Now that you understand that you can delete an Uber Eats account and the reasons why you may want to, this overview goes into detail explaining how to delete the Uber Eats account.
When you’re ready to get rid of this account, follow the instructions below.
Step by Step Instructions
When deleting your Uber Eats account, follow these steps.
- Open up the Uber app and select the menu item in the top left
- Select Settings
- Choose the Privacy tab
- Now tap Delete Your Account in red letters at the bottom
Once you’ve chosen to delete the account, Uber will deactivate it and you will have up to 30 days to reactivate your account in case you change your mind.
If you do decide to reactivate your account within 30 days, all you need to do is enter Uber.com and type in the same username and password.
How to Deactivate an Uber Eats Driving Account
Do you need to deactivate a driver account on Uber Eats?
You can effectively delete or deactivate your Uber driver account with a few key steps.
If you’re done driving food deliveries through Uber Eats because you got a different gig, then it’s time to delete that account.
Follow the steps below to delete your Uber Eats driver account.
- Open up the Uber driver app on your smartphone or mobile device
- Select the three-line menu found in the top-left corner of the screen
- Choose the Help icon at the bottom of the page under Account
- Select Account and Payment under the All Topics section
- Now tap on Changing account settings
- Choose I want to delete my account
- Now you can enter Yes or No to the two questions asking whether you want to delete your driver account or your Uber rider account
- Pick the reason you want to delete the account and then click Submit
Is Deleting an Uber Eats Account Reversible?
It is reversible if you accidentally deleted your Uber Eats account or if you changed your mind.
You have up to 30 days to reactivate your account.
All you need to do to reactivate it is to go back to the Uber website and enter your username and password.
Your account gets deactivated for 30 days after you delete an Uber Eats account.
Once the 30 days are up, Uber will completely and permanently delete it.
Uber will get rid of all unused promos, credits, and rewards.
Now you should know all about deleting an Uber Eats account.
If you ever want some delicious food delivered right to your doorstep, you can always come back to the Uber Eats platform!